How Does One Dress for a Poetry Circus?

I was invited by the wonderful poet, Nicelle Davis, to read at her second Poetry Circus. This event was held at the Griffith Park Merry-Go-Round in Los Angeles. “Part performance, ride, dance, and creations.” This was a free family event including crafts and a parade for the children. Over 30 poets read and there were other performances. “A community-focused event that allowed everyone to run away and join the circus.”

Balloon2

The host, Nicelle, is a poet and a performance artist. I knew she would dress for the circus. I wanted to have fun and wear a costume. I found a black lace scarf, spider necklace, and a spider ring. I decided to be a gypsy fortune teller. I already had the silk wrap of stars. I was asked if I always dress this way!

Photograph by Edwin Vasquez

Photograph by Edwin Vasquez

Here’s Nicelle Davis.

poetry_circus_nicelle_laura

A chapbook was created with one page per poet. I had a short poem, an image of one of my art quilts and a prompt. Anne Yale of Yak Press published the chapbook which acted as a program for the evening. They sold out!

chapbook_cover

“Spider with Wings,” is my first chapbook of poetry. The poems are short collages full of imagery and imagination. I’m having fun reading the poems in various locations. Part of publishing with Jamii Publishing was to participate in community projects. The Poetry Circus was my first project. I read poems from the book at the event.

circus_me

The audience rode on the Merry-Go-Round in between the poetry readings and performances. I hope you have enjoyed the ride today.

merry_go_round

~ by fiberverse on October 27, 2015.

One Response to “How Does One Dress for a Poetry Circus?”

  1. Lovely to read about this — connection across forms. Inspiring! affirming!

Leave a Reply

 
ART AND CAKE

A Contemporary Art Magazine with a Focus on the Los Angeles Art Scene

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Women Who Submit

Empowering women writers to submit their work for publication

Cadence Collective: Long Beach Poets

Featuring poets from and near Long Beach, California

Dead Bluebird

Stories & poems for the traveller; by Aidan Holt

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Mainely Steph

My journey to Maine and beyond

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Hong Kong Lucida

A Thinking Street Photography Blog

DoubleU = W

WITHIN ARE PIECES OF ME

ido art karen robinson

POST-TRAUMATIC GROWTH: Improving one's sense of wellbeing using art, creative writing, photography & blogging - my journey...

Business in Rhyme

inspiring personal growth through poetry and writing

Voice in the Wilderness

musings on writing and poem-craft

Folk Tales Corner

Seasonal thoughts on myths, legends and folktales

Gamintraveler

Love, Travel Lifestyle and Destinations

the work of Nancy Leavitt

Calligraphy and Book Design

Trish Hopkinson

A selfish poet

