Summer Adventures Close to Home

cindy_hat

I’ve been wanting to visit TAM (Torrance Art Museum), but it’s a drive across Los Angeles. The show “Studio System” seemed the perfect time to visit. Select artists set up studios in the museum and created art for a month. I enjoyed seeing friends and making new ones. The artists were happy to share their techniques and concepts. In the photo above I am wearing a hat by Don Porcella. I’ve only known him online and it was great to meet him and see his work in person. The artist below, Hung Viet Nguyen, I already knew, but I learned about his process.

cindy_hung

Then on to the Manhattan Beach! Salt is in the air, as was coolness.

Manhattan_Beach_Umbrellas

Santa Ana was adventure #2. I visited the Old Santa Ana Courthouse to see the show, “Vietnamese Focus: Generation of Stories.” The courthouse itself is a work of art from the early 1900’s. A friend said her daughter got married here.

stairs

Seeing the Vietnamese show was timely. I had just finished preparing my manuscript for “Quiet Lantern, a Novel in Verse” that is based in Hue, Vietnam. Here I was surrounded by real stories of the war and leaving the country. Stories of split families and dangerous escapes. And these people ending up in Southern California. Trinh Mai did an installation on funeral-type cloths.

trinh_mai_art

Next I visited The Mexican Consulate in Santa Ana to see “Bang Bang” by Eva Malhotra. Her textural pieces full of color capture the galaxies and the mapping of earth. Here I am in front of one of her wonderful art works that went from floor to ceiling.

eva_malhotra_art

Trip #3 took me to Exhibition Park in LA to the California Science Center to see the “Dead Sea Scrolls.” This was a “must-do” on my list this summer. I’ve never seen them. I write about ancient cultures. This needed to happen. I got there early enough to view the scrolls with a small crowd. A highlight was hearing a fragment read out loud in Hebrew. Hard to put the experience of this show into words.

dead_sea_scrolls

Exploration of the center was in order since this was my first visit. There’s a lot to discover here. I liked the small aquarium.

aquarium_science_center4

Three weeks of adventures in new places and not too far from home.

~ by fiberverse on September 8, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
ART AND CAKE

A Contemporary Art Magazine with a Focus on the Los Angeles Art Scene

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Women Who Submit

Empowering women writers to submit their work for publication

Cadence Collective: Long Beach Poets

Featuring poets from and near Long Beach, California

Dead Bluebird

Stories & poems for the traveller; by Aidan Holt

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Mainely Steph

My journey to Maine and beyond

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Hong Kong Lucida

A Thinking Street Photography Blog

DoubleU = W

WITHIN ARE PIECES OF ME

ido art karen robinson

POST-TRAUMATIC GROWTH: Improving one's sense of wellbeing using art, creative writing, photography & blogging - my journey...

Business in Rhyme

inspiring personal growth through poetry and writing

Voice in the Wilderness

musings on writing and poem-craft

Folk Tales Corner

Seasonal thoughts on myths, legends and folktales

Gamintraveler

Love, Travel Lifestyle and Destinations

the work of Nancy Leavitt

Calligraphy and Book Design

Trish Hopkinson

A selfish poet

