A Weekend Mix

canopy_art
canopy_poetry2
art_in_the_alley_5_display2alley_cindy_rinne

I had the honor of reading poetry with my group, PoetrIE, at two of my art receptions in one weekend.

CANOPY: Curated by Erns Valdez at dba Gallery and Wine Bar in Pomona, CA. Erns worked hard to bring artists, poets, and musicians together for the “Canopy” reception. The theme of this group show was trees. I had works ranging from the Lady of the Forest to a leaf. Many fine artists in many media were represented; even a real tree attached to the wall. PoetrIE members opened the evening with several poems that fit the theme of trees, covering, and canopy. My joy was to see the group sharing their words with others and for me to be a part of a great group of poets. I also had the opportunity to get to know several talented young artists.

ART IN THE ALLEY, #5: Headed by Aeron Brown in the alley next to Augie’s Coffee House in Redlands, CA. Aeron has given much to make this quarterly outdoor show a success. He also combined several artistic voices in art, music, and poetry. It was fun to make new friends, see friends, and have my family involved. I brought several fiber art series to diplay: Moose, Ghost Fish, and Constellations. PoetrIE closed out the event with a reading. I was the MC (photo by Christina Mendez). I had a lot of fun reading and introducing my poetry friends. We had a great audience. A guest musician, a stranger, closed out our poetry hour with poetry as song.

~ by fiberverse on March 18, 2013.

One Response to “A Weekend Mix”

  1. Great blog, Cindy! I really appreciate the leadership you bring to the Inland Empire arts community. Thank you for including me in the Art in the Alley reading. I look forward to reading with you again.

Leave a Reply

 
ART AND CAKE

A Contemporary Art Magazine with a Focus on the Los Angeles Art Scene

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Women Who Submit

Empowering women writers to submit their work for publication

Cadence Collective: Long Beach Poets

Featuring poets from and near Long Beach, California

Dead Bluebird

Stories & poems for the traveller; by Aidan Holt

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Mainely Steph

My journey to Maine and beyond

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Hong Kong Lucida

A Thinking Street Photography Blog

DoubleU = W

WITHIN ARE PIECES OF ME

ido art karen robinson

POST-TRAUMATIC GROWTH: Improving one's sense of wellbeing using art, creative writing, photography & blogging - my journey...

Business in Rhyme

inspiring personal growth through poetry and writing

Voice in the Wilderness

musings on writing and poem-craft

Folk Tales Corner

Seasonal thoughts on myths, legends and folktales

Gamintraveler

Love, Travel Lifestyle and Destinations

the work of Nancy Leavitt

Calligraphy and Book Design

Trish Hopkinson

A selfish poet

