FALL INSPIRATIONS


I’m working on an art show with a group of creative women who are artists and writers. I thought I was going to continue writing and creating artwork with Native American inspiration. Then I found these beautiful Ao Dai, Vietnamese long gowns in a thrift store. I will alter these gowns with a new poetry myth using fabrics. I like the challenge of exploring other cultures. Carmen Elena Mitchell wrote: Write what you don’t know. Write to discover! Learn and grow with the story. Follow your instincts as to where the story wants to go. This is how I write. I enjoy the discovery that comes in creativity. I have a name for my character. I look forward to seeing where the art and story choose to go.

Some clues for the Vietnamese myth and other poetry myths I am working on came from another inspiration, The Artist’s Rule by Christine Valters Painter (nurturing your creative soul with monastic wisdom). This book encourages contemplation and has art and poetry exercises. I really enjoyed the project of making Wisdom Cards. I wrote a question on the back of each card. Then I painted and collaged on the front, not thinking about the questions. This helped me decide which story/series to work on next. I’m in a winter 2013 show as The Featured Artist. I want to present new work.


I am also writing a Native American bird myth. It’s almost finished (I keep saying that). I knew it needed something to give the narrative story some breathing space. My friend lent me the book, Circe by Nicelle Davis. This book is well-written and creatively designed (illustrations by Cheryl Gross). I drew inspiration on how I could expand and experiment with my story. Seeing my story with new eyes gave me the encouragement to finish and still be excited about this myth.

New stories. New artwork series. An exciting time as the leaves turn.

~ by fiberverse on October 30, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
ART AND CAKE

A Contemporary Art Magazine with a Focus on the Los Angeles Art Scene

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Women Who Submit

Empowering women writers to submit their work for publication

Cadence Collective: Long Beach Poets

Featuring poets from and near Long Beach, California

Dead Bluebird

Stories & poems for the traveller; by Aidan Holt

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Mainely Steph

My journey to Maine and beyond

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Hong Kong Lucida

A Thinking Street Photography Blog

DoubleU = W

WITHIN ARE PIECES OF ME

ido art karen robinson

POST-TRAUMATIC GROWTH: Improving one's sense of wellbeing using art, creative writing, photography & blogging - my journey...

Business in Rhyme

inspiring personal growth through poetry and writing

Voice in the Wilderness

musings on writing and poem-craft

Folk Tales Corner

Seasonal thoughts on myths, legends and folktales

Gamintraveler

Love, Travel Lifestyle and Destinations

the work of Nancy Leavitt

Calligraphy and Book Design

Trish Hopkinson

A selfish poet

