“EARTH VOICES” Poetry Reading

I was the featured poet for The Village Poets of Sunland-Tujunga on Sunday, May 22, 2011.

“Seed pods crack open drumming the sidewalk
floating on air. Seeds land on blue and white
stripes. I select just the right walking stick.”
(excerpt from my poem, “Seeds, Streams and Diamonds)

I asked the audience to select just the right walking stick and join me on a poetic journey. I read my poems and shared my art quilts that go with the poems. This art quilt is called, “Peace.” This is a popular artwork inspired by a personal retreat to Oak Glen, CA. I shared several poems about nature experiences and nature as metaphor.

Several poems followed about relationships and the meaning of home. People enjoyed my apron collage of fabrics from around the world and the doll dress with a poem on the apron of childhood memories. I shared some of the stories behind the poetry and the artwork. I ended by reading some new poems. People commented that the presentation was peaceful and inspirational.

There were open mic readings before and after my presentation. I enjoyed listening to the many poetic voices. A big THANK YOU to The Village Poets for inviting me. This is a great community of poets. The picture taken at the end of the evening shows the joy of this group. I love how they are “dressed” in my artwork!

Photos by Heather Rinne, Julie Shaffer and Maja Trochimczyk

~ by fiberverse on June 1, 2011.

One Response to ““EARTH VOICES” Poetry Reading”

  1. Dear Cindy,

    Do you show your cloth artwork at Oak Glen? Do you ever listen to the old guy with the great guitar and such a soft sweet voice in front of the big red barn? I’ve been stopping to hear him since I was a tot. I’ve written him into a poem. Anyway, I love the way you tell your stories in cloth collages. Lovely, just lovely.

    Thanks,
    Diane

Leave a Reply

 
ART AND CAKE

A Contemporary Art Magazine with a Focus on the Los Angeles Art Scene

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Women Who Submit

Empowering women writers to submit their work for publication

Cadence Collective: Long Beach Poets

Featuring poets from and near Long Beach, California

Dead Bluebird

Stories & poems for the traveller; by Aidan Holt

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Mainely Steph

My journey to Maine and beyond

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Hong Kong Lucida

A Thinking Street Photography Blog

DoubleU = W

WITHIN ARE PIECES OF ME

ido art karen robinson

POST-TRAUMATIC GROWTH: Improving one's sense of wellbeing using art, creative writing, photography & blogging - my journey...

Business in Rhyme

inspiring personal growth through poetry and writing

Voice in the Wilderness

musings on writing and poem-craft

Folk Tales Corner

Seasonal thoughts on myths, legends and folktales

Gamintraveler

Love, Travel Lifestyle and Destinations

the work of Nancy Leavitt

Calligraphy and Book Design

