TAKIN’ POETRY TO DA STREETS

I have had the best time reading poetry and sharing my art in several venues in the last month!

I began with a “Bohemian Salon” in the studio of Quinton Bemiller in LA Chinatown. The building was an old ice house with the original wood floors. I presented a program called, “Assembled Stories” which included my poetry, art work and music by world music artist Roberto Catalano. Roberto and I selected instruments to go with the tone of the poetry. I enjoyed performing for friends and making new friends. The evening also included Myron Kaufman and Jackie Tchakalian reading Myron’s children’s book, “Jack and Kate.”
Next up was an art reception at Shear Perfections hair salon in Redlands, CA. I was happy to be in a show with my good friends Aeron Brown, Jean Hall and Shannon Heinrich. Here I am in the shampoo bowl room!


Aeron planned to play music outside on the main street downtown. He read about my performing in Chinatown and asked me if I would read some poems at our art reception. I had never read my poetry randomly on the street before. I thought, “Why not?” It turned out to be a wonderful experience. Aeron played guitar as I read. People stopped to listen to my poetry. One young girl was beaming as she listened to the poems. Others began to dance! A great experience for me.

The last event was a poetry reading and art work performance at COLORS 91711 in Claremont, CA. This is a wonderful, creative space for fiber artists. People are welcome to come and work on projects. It was a rich experience to read poetry while people were creating their own art work and while people were shopping. This is a warm and welcoming place.

I shared some of the stories behind the poetry. It was exciting to have people share their stories too as they connected to what I was describing. They enjoyed the art work too.

Diana and Cathy are the owners of COLORS 91711. I have known them for years. They are wonderful friends, supporters of the arts and supporters of the community. Here they are modeling my “Green Leaf Enwrapped” scarves.

~ by fiberverse on December 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
ART AND CAKE

A Contemporary Art Magazine with a Focus on the Los Angeles Art Scene

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Women Who Submit

Empowering women writers to submit their work for publication

Cadence Collective: Long Beach Poets

Featuring poets from and near Long Beach, California

Dead Bluebird

Stories & poems for the traveller; by Aidan Holt

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Mainely Steph

My journey to Maine and beyond

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Hong Kong Lucida

A Thinking Street Photography Blog

DoubleU = W

WITHIN ARE PIECES OF ME

ido art karen robinson

POST-TRAUMATIC GROWTH: Improving one's sense of wellbeing using art, creative writing, photography & blogging - my journey...

Business in Rhyme

inspiring personal growth through poetry and writing

Voice in the Wilderness

musings on writing and poem-craft

Folk Tales Corner

Seasonal thoughts on myths, legends and folktales

Gamintraveler

Love, Travel Lifestyle and Destinations

the work of Nancy Leavitt

Calligraphy and Book Design

