Celebration Saturday, 8/28/10


The adventure began with the Grand Opening celebration of Bosatsu Factory Art Studio in Upland, CA. This is “a place where all ages from all walks of life come to inspire each other and create art in a safe and enjoyable environment.” Tomoko Suzuki-Meier is the owner with the vision to have a studio and an “art gym” where people can be inspired and receive guidance to be creative.

I am excited to be teaching “Creativity with Stitch” where students will explore the world of art quilting in various forms. Other fabulous art classes and studio time are being offered. I met Keira Dooley who will teach silkscreen printing and Corina Acosta who will teach art for children. For more information: http://www.bosatsufactory.com.

Later I participated in a poetic walking tour: “Poets on Site in the Arlington Garden, Pasadena, CA.” Poets on Site poetic writing and performance group was created by Kathabela and Rick Wilson.

One morning I perviously visited this “secret garden” to explore and to write poetry. The garden, designed by Mayita Dinos, (in photo) has many pathways, benches and sculptures. I enjoyed new discoveries around every bend in the path or down the Tuscan stairs. I even found Yoko Ono’s Wish Trees planted here after being an installation in the city through the Armory for the Arts, Pasadena. I wrote a poem about wishes that described the many things I observed in my morning garden solitude experience.


I enjoyed an old birdhouse sitting on a table. A poem about the past and present was birthed. As I was eating my lunch, I observed another visitor to the garden wearing a wide-brimmed straw hat. I worte a poem about my observing this stranger.


The poetic walking tour was the opportunity to read these poems on site with other poetry friends. The Association of Professional Landscape Designers joined us as the audience. Rick Wilson played flutes of the world as the poetry was read. Kathabela and I hung a few of my floral art quilts in various places in the garden as banners. Liz Goetz and Jean Sudbury played their fiddles guiding us from site to site in joyful revelry.

Poet Maja Trochimczyk took this photo of me reading one of my poems at the site where it was originally written. It was a cool summer day of wonder and surprises as poets and musicians shared their voices and hearts. This celebration ended with a lovely potluck dinner in the garden. Thanks to Majita Dinos for hosting this event.

A great day of celebrating creativity and friends!

~ by fiberverse on August 30, 2010.

3 Responses to “Celebration Saturday, 8/28/10”

  1. I have sat on that bench! Love the sweet birdhouse. Glad to know other creativity has happened there besides mine…..

    • Fabulous, Linda! Glad we could share the space. I enjoyed the experience of being there alone and with the group.

  2. It was a lovely afternoon, even without a supper (I had a formal dinner that night). I’m glad you like the portrait of you with your art and the birdhouse. It was a “golden hour” – as in my poem:
    “Birds crowd around the fountain,
    water droplets scatter on sandy path.
    The afternoon sighs with relief.
    All is well and all shall be well
    in our garden at four o’clock.”

Leave a Reply

 
ART AND CAKE

A Contemporary Art Magazine with a Focus on the Los Angeles Art Scene

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Women Who Submit

Empowering women writers to submit their work for publication

Cadence Collective: Long Beach Poets

Featuring poets from and near Long Beach, California

Dead Bluebird

Stories & poems for the traveller; by Aidan Holt

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Mainely Steph

My journey to Maine and beyond

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Hong Kong Lucida

A Thinking Street Photography Blog

DoubleU = W

WITHIN ARE PIECES OF ME

ido art karen robinson

POST-TRAUMATIC GROWTH: Improving one's sense of wellbeing using art, creative writing, photography & blogging - my journey...

Business in Rhyme

inspiring personal growth through poetry and writing

Voice in the Wilderness

musings on writing and poem-craft

Folk Tales Corner

Seasonal thoughts on myths, legends and folktales

Gamintraveler

Love, Travel Lifestyle and Destinations

the work of Nancy Leavitt

Calligraphy and Book Design

Trish Hopkinson

A selfish poet

