MEDITATION


I needed to make a new art work that is 60×12″ for a show in August. I thought about a poem I wrote called, “Meditation.” The poem is based on a vision I saw of red doors, stars and a trail I walked on a few years ago at Martha’s Vineyard. This art work combines memories and new possiblities. “Red doors floating through space bordered by stars enveloping the Mysteries.” (Excerpt from my poem, “Meditation.”)

I found a fabulous book called, “Expressive Drawing” by Steven Aimone. I felt inspired to try the ideas of markmaking and repeating shapes as a textile piece. I found some of my photographs of the Vineyard. I used untreated cotton as the base. I began by writing parts of the poem at different angles with a marker all over the surface. I wrote 2/3 of the poem to start with. I drew door shapes with Dyna-flo fabric paints. I drew rock shapes with a paintbrush using Jacquard Lumiere paints. Painting in the rock shapes with Lumiere or Neopaque fabric paints, I covered up some of the text. Paint was splattered on the doors. Using Neopaque paints I began to make the pathway, the sea and the cliffs as background.

Acrylic inks and an ink pen made for small detail drawings. I used ink or paint to give the detail drawings dimension. The rest of the poem was printed in the doors.

I cut the cotton batting and stitched it to the backside of the painted fabric around the edges. I painted rock shapes on the batting. I added a sheer as the backing stitching around the edges. I decided to quilt from the backside of the quilt using the rock shapes on the batting as a guide. This made the front more interesting as the quilted shapes went across the poetry, the painted shapes and the ink drawings in random places.

It’s very different for me to make a fabric painting like this. But it does tap into my roots as a watercolor and acrylic painter. “The prophet said that the door is just beginning to open. A door is creaking open.” (Excerpt from my poem, “Meditation.”)

~ by fiberverse on July 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
ART AND CAKE

A Contemporary Art Magazine with a Focus on the Los Angeles Art Scene

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Women Who Submit

Empowering women writers to submit their work for publication

Cadence Collective: Long Beach Poets

Featuring poets from and near Long Beach, California

Dead Bluebird

Stories & poems for the traveller; by Aidan Holt

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Mainely Steph

My journey to Maine and beyond

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Hong Kong Lucida

A Thinking Street Photography Blog

DoubleU = W

WITHIN ARE PIECES OF ME

ido art karen robinson

POST-TRAUMATIC GROWTH: Improving one's sense of wellbeing using art, creative writing, photography & blogging - my journey...

Business in Rhyme

inspiring personal growth through poetry and writing

Voice in the Wilderness

musings on writing and poem-craft

Folk Tales Corner

Seasonal thoughts on myths, legends and folktales

Gamintraveler

Love, Travel Lifestyle and Destinations

the work of Nancy Leavitt

Calligraphy and Book Design

