breath of the earth zine

For the first time I was only exhibiting my poetry and not my fiber art. My poems were paired up with franny werthwein’s beautiful wet fiber art. I printed my poems on rice paper and had them mounted on mat board to be hung below the art work.

I wanted something to sell since I had no art work hanging. At first I thought of creating some artist books using franny’s paper and my poetry. That seemed too costly. I attended a “Zine” workshop at the Riverside Art Museum. Zines are small booklets that are reasonably priced to get a person’s viewpoints out to the public. I thought this would be a perfect vehicle for my poetry.

The “breath of the earth” Zine includes a 1×1″ piece of franny’s wet fiber art, an introduction by her and several of my poems. It has 14 pages and  is 5 1/2 x 4/14″. The Zine is printed on high quality paper and the binding is machine stitched. Each one is signed and numbered by the author. Available for puchase for $7 each at www.fiberverse.com under the store catagory.

VOICES

Two tall trees growing at a slight diagonal/ with branches leaning the other way/ dance and sway to the music of the city/ and the clouds. Partners working together/ while allowing each their own voice./ The gentle movement is calming, strong/ and graceful. I try to move like the wind.     Cindy Rinne

~ by fiberverse on April 26, 2010.

2 Responses to “breath of the earth zine”

  1. Beautiful poetry and the books are precious! Nice collaboration!

  2. Thank you, Cyndy. It was fun to try something new.

Leave a Reply

 
ART AND CAKE

A Contemporary Art Magazine with a Focus on the Los Angeles Art Scene

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Women Who Submit

Empowering women writers to submit their work for publication

Cadence Collective: Long Beach Poets

Featuring poets from and near Long Beach, California

Dead Bluebird

Stories & poems for the traveller; by Aidan Holt

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Mainely Steph

My journey to Maine and beyond

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Hong Kong Lucida

A Thinking Street Photography Blog

DoubleU = W

WITHIN ARE PIECES OF ME

ido art karen robinson

POST-TRAUMATIC GROWTH: Improving one's sense of wellbeing using art, creative writing, photography & blogging - my journey...

Business in Rhyme

inspiring personal growth through poetry and writing

Voice in the Wilderness

musings on writing and poem-craft

Folk Tales Corner

Seasonal thoughts on myths, legends and folktales

Gamintraveler

Love, Travel Lifestyle and Destinations

the work of Nancy Leavitt

Calligraphy and Book Design

