30 Days

thirtydays
A group of us decided to take a thirty day challenge. I decided to draw something in my studio from the vast array of nature objects I have collected mostly from my walks. I have branches, shells, stones, feathers and even moss!

I drew mostly on fabric. I used a variety of implements including a stick, crowquill pen, brush, sewing machine, hand-embroidery, etc. I drew on silks, cottons, organdy, vellum, etc. I usually decided each day what I would draw.

I liked the idea that I couldn’t fail. Every drawing had possibities. If I didn’t like something, I could change it another day. Some of the drawings took two days. Once, text was my drawing. I also made a necklace out of a drawing.

As the drawings grew in number, I started to pair some of them together. Then I would add other fabrics. Suddenly actual artworks appeared.

This was a great way to get me into the studio each day. This was creative play. I also had wanted to return to doing more drawing in my artwork. I am working on developing this idea into a retreat that would be for artists of many media.

~ by fiberverse on October 22, 2009.

2 Responses to “30 Days”

  1. Hi, Cindy.
    I love the artwork you did and what a great idea to put together things you’ve picked up from your walks.

Leave a Reply

 
ART AND CAKE

A Contemporary Art Magazine with a Focus on the Los Angeles Art Scene

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Women Who Submit

Empowering women writers to submit their work for publication

Cadence Collective: Long Beach Poets

Featuring poets from and near Long Beach, California

Dead Bluebird

Stories & poems for the traveller; by Aidan Holt

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Mainely Steph

My journey to Maine and beyond

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Hong Kong Lucida

A Thinking Street Photography Blog

DoubleU = W

WITHIN ARE PIECES OF ME

ido art karen robinson

POST-TRAUMATIC GROWTH: Improving one's sense of wellbeing using art, creative writing, photography & blogging - my journey...

Business in Rhyme

inspiring personal growth through poetry and writing

Voice in the Wilderness

musings on writing and poem-craft

Folk Tales Corner

Seasonal thoughts on myths, legends and folktales

Gamintraveler

Love, Travel Lifestyle and Destinations

the work of Nancy Leavitt

Calligraphy and Book Design

Trish Hopkinson

A selfish poet

